Elections scheduled for July 6 for 9 MLC seats in Bihar, 1 in AP

Elections scheduled for July 6 for 9 MLC seats in Bihar, 1 in AP

New Delhi: The Election Commission today announced the date for the state Legislative Councils polls in Bihar and Andhra Pradesh. The elections for nine MLC seats in Bihar and one in Andhra Pradesh were announced to be held on July 6. The last date of filing nominations is June 25.

The notification for the same will be issued on June 18, while June 29 will be the last date for withdrawal of nomination. Counting of votes will be conducted on the same day.

The nine seats were created due to the retirement of legislature council members like Krishan Kumar Singh, Ashok Choudhary, Prashant Kumar Shahi, Sanjay Prakash, Satish Kumar, Radha Mohan Sharma, Sonelal Mehta, Prasad, and Md. Harood Rashid in the Bihar Legislature Council.

Andhra Pradesh has decided to hold a by-election to state Legislative Councils by the members of the Legislative Assembly for the vacant seat of Dokka Manikya Vara Prasad, who had resigned on March 3, 2020.

It has been directed the Chief Secretaries of Bihar and Andhra Pradesh to depute senior officers from the states. During the arrangement of election and conducting it COVID-19 measures have to be ensured by the appointed secretaries.

The election commission said on Bihar,

Considering the prevailing unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19 and the guidelines and orders passed under the Disaster Management Act, 2005 by the competent authority, the Election Commission, on April 3, directed that the process of election to the nine seats shall be initiated at a later date, after reviewing the prevailing situation.”

[Hams Live]


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

%d bloggers like this: